Basic steps to follow after car accident in California
Following a car accident, those involved may find it hard to think straight. A serious car crash can often lead to complicated injuries or even death. If you ever get involved in a car accident in California, you need to be aware of the steps that must be followed. Among other things, you may also need to contact a California car accident lawyer, who will work in your interests and protect your rights. Here are steps to follow after a car accident in the state.
- Call 911 and the police. Even if your injuries don’t seem to be serious right away, consider calling 911. The police may not respond right away in some circumstances, but you will have the evidence that you did try to report the accident.
- Check if others need help. This is the basic humane thing you can do, regardless of what or who caused the accident. Make sure that anyone in need of medical attention isn’t ignored.
- Write down the details. Ask for the names, addresses, numbers, and driver’s license numbers for all drivers involved in the accident. If you are in a physical condition, take as many pictures as needed.
- Inform your insurance company. You have to inform your insurer of the accident within a reasonable time, so that they don’t deny a claim, if the accident was your fault. If the damage to vehicles, property is more than $750, a written report must be filed with Department of Motor Vehicles within a period of 10 days.
- Contact a lawyer. You have to consider contacting an experienced car accident attorney in California if you think that you had a role in the accident. If you are unsure of establishing liability or don’t want to deal with insurance companies, you need a lawyer anyway.
Working with an attorney
If you were injured because of someone’s fault, you have to consider all your options. Find a lawyer who is willing to work on a contingency basis, which means that they only get paid if they win. Ensure that your lawyer is accessible, reliable, and is experienced enough in handling similar claims. The statute of limitations in California allows a period of two years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit against the party at fault, so your lawyer is critical from day one for gathering evidence and witnesses.
Check for top law firms in California for personal injury cases now!